Catalog #39SC/ SC#13
ReleaseW 16 - 2024
FormatVinyl - CAN2LP
 € 46,50 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. arbol perenne gabo - preludio sn
  2. antonio zepeda y eugenio toussaint - viento de lluvia
  3. la fabula - acuarela crepuscular
  4. antonio zepeda y eblen macari - brisa
  5. armando velasco - dafne
  6. eblen macari - clarion
  7. vistas fijas - dias de margarita
  8. arbol perenne gabo - era venus
  9. armando velasco - una vez
  10. isaac alva - valle de la luna
  11. la fabula - changanyika
  12. german bringas - non observan
  13. antonio zepeda y jorge reyes - nosotros eramos los colibris de tus suenos
  14. jose luis fernandez ledesma - la primera luz
  15. vistas fijas - gotas
  16. jose luis fernandez ledesma - evos luz
  17. isaac alva - vuelo azul


Triángulos De Luz Y Espacios De Sombra (Triangles of Light and Spaces of Shadow) is a collection of visionary Mexican electronic music sourced from obscure cassettes, CDs, private pressings, and personal archives. These works trace an expansive scene of prescient musicians who created a unique speculative cosmology, forging Mesoamerican mythologies with innovative sonic technologies.

During the mid-80s to early 90s, a network of Mexican musicians embarked on a journey to craft a musical expression distinct from the mainstream musical culture that dominated the airwaves and record industry. Based around practices of collaboration, ethnomusicology, electronic experimentation and home-recording, these artists traversed territories at the very edges of genre and musical form. Myth-scientists Antonio Zepeda, José Luis Fernández Ledesma, Jorge Reyes, Isaac Alva, and La Fábula venture into the periphery of the new age, incorporating Pre-Columbian rhythms and melodies into their dream-like compositions. Vistas Fijas, Armando Velasco, Eblen Macari, and Arbol Perenne (Gabo) move through radical new wave territories, utilizing guitars and drum machines to map their musical chronicles. Germán Bringas and Eugenio Toussaint traverse the jazz landscape, blending horns with electronics, improvising long uncharted expeditions. Pinning down a unified sound for these artists is challenging, yet they collectively cohabitate the capacious space of "ambient," employing diverse expressions through various imaginative modalities. What distinguishes these artists is a distinctly transhistorical approach which vividly imagines sonic possible worlds.

In an attempt to situate themselves within a culturally and historically complex landscape, many of the artists on the compilation reactivate ancient Mesoamerican music traditions, those of the Aztecs, Maya, and Olmecs. Their electronic compositions are intricate tapestries woven with the haunting melodies of pre-Hispanic flutes and ocarinas, resonating alongside the echoes of ancient percussive marvels like the teponaztli and huéhuetl. Ritualistic chants, undulating synths, and atavistic rhythms intertwine, conjuring a hypnotic mosaic of chimeric sound. Natural and acoustic sounds are juxtaposed within a synthetic habitat, as if towering skyscrapers cast shadows across ancient pyramids. Rather than longing for an impossible past, these works evoke fantastical visions suspended in dreams, glimpses into the mythical realm of the hummingbirds.

The title "Triángulos De Luz Y Espacios De Sombra" (Triangles of Light and Spaces of Shadow) is inspired by a public access TV show of the same name that showcased several artists featured in this compilation. Imagining triangular prisms of light superimposed on otherworldly shadows feels apt for these illusory and phantasmagoric sounds. The space between these two opposing but interdependent images is the resonant juncture where these artists create their auditory oracles. This compilation highlights the prophetic luminaries of this underground community of musicians, with many of these songs previously unreleased or only available on fugitive formats until now.

This double LP release features 17 tracks remastered from reel-to-reel, DAT, and cassette masters. It includes inserts with an essay by Mexico City based music journalist David Cortés in both Spanish and English, accompanied by archival photos of the artists and artifacts featured on the compilation. The first edition comes adorned with a luminescent sticker illustrating a solar eclipse.

More like this