Catalog #OTCRLP 012
ReleaseW 43 - 2020
FormatVinyl - EULP
EAN Barcode4062548017052
 € 18,50 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. Ixion
  2. Race to weynot
  3. Styx
  4. Haumea
  5. Wezlee s disco inferno
  6. Orcus ice
  7. Eris in formation
  8. Escape from sedna
  9. Salute to lord battagon


Debut album of super sonic jazz-ravers Planet Battagon. exploring new dimensions in left-field experimentation, cosmic sampling and ancient drum machines.

Seen drumming with Basement Jaxx, a long-night with a Pearl Syncussion SY-1 drum synth led to Planet Battagon’s rhythm master Nathan “Tugg” Curran setting off on a intergalactic exploration, searching in the rhythmic seas between Saturn’s Rings, creating a full album’s worth of super-sonic jazz-rave, the likes of which have never been heard. Planet Battagon’s ‘Trans-Neptunia’ was recorded over a couple of days by Tugg, on Live Drums, synth bass, synth drums, & FX in almost full improvisation with associates Martin Slattery (bass clarinet, alto sax , Soprano Sax & FX), Oli Savill (percussion) Mickey Ball (trumpet) and Jack Baker (drums 3-tracks).. Avoiding the many pitfalls and cliches of both jazz and electronic music, the group jammed around a number of themes, whilst synth lines were triggered by Tugg making the machines partners in the group jams that laid the foundations of this album.

From the wonky, twisting sonics of “Wezlee’s Disco Inferno” to the frantic, scattered patterns of “Escape From Sedna” the EP is full of psychedelic textures and deep space distress signals, coded in a language transformed via earthly amplifiers to resemble a sound landing somewhere between the musical outputs of Sun Ra, Aphex Twin, Herbie Hancock and Carl Craig.With early support from Gilles Peterson and The Wire, ‘Trans-Neptunia’ is poised to further establish not only Planet Battagon, but the autonomous right to improvise of all imperfect drum machines.

More like this