Catalog #DE 303
ReleaseW 34 - 2023
FormatVinyl - USEP
EAN Barcode794811515517
 € 20,99 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. Behind The Mirror (Image mix)
  2. Behind The Mirror (Release Of Anguish mix)
  3. Fury
  4. Dead City
  5. Crimes Against The People
  6. Ail


Seminal EBM-techno outfit Code Industry surfaces on Dark Entries with a reissue of their Structure EP.

Detroit-based musicians Rob Myers, E.N. Sevy, Kyl Crys, and William Keith formed Code Industry in 1989 following their previous project, Code Assault. Among the few Black artists working in the idioms of EBM and industrial during their time, Code Industry tackle issues of racism, the media, and the hypocrisy of patriotism. The band’s frigid synths and menacingly whispered vocals display their affinity for European EBM acts like Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb, but their adventurous production and high- tech grooves situate their work equally within the Detroit techno continuum.

The Structure EP was originally released in 1991 via the legendary Antler-Subway label. On its six tracks, Code Assembly expand upon Method of Assembly, their debut album from the year prior, while presenting striking new work hinting at the development of their sound. On “Behind the Mask (Image Mix)”, the band reworks one of the hits from Method of Assembly into a leaner, more kinetic form, finely sculpted for maximum dancefloor impact.

The instrumental “Fury” shows the outfit pushing harder into the then-nascent Detroit techno sound, with spare synths and disembodied vocal snippets. Meanwhile, brooding downtempo cuts like “Ail” and “Crimes Again the People” imbue their cyberpunk aesthetics with politically-charged rage. Code Industry illustrates the depth of techno and EBM’s mutual entanglement while addressing political struggles that still embroil us in 2023. This reissue of Structure includes a double-sided insert with lyrics and liner notes by Pen Jackson aka E.N. Sevy.

More like this