Catalog #IMRC 0061LP
ReleaseW 12 - 2023
FormatVinyl - EU2LP
EAN Barcode789993992720
 € 32,99 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. jazz is merely the negroes cry of joy suffering
  2. introit- joy n suffrin
  3. jazz is the musical expression of the triumph of the negroes spirit
  4. kyrie eleison- lawd hav merci
  5. This endless repetition is like a Chain around the Spirit. And is a reflection of the denial of a future to the Negro in the American way of life
  6. dias ire- chain around the spirit
  7. another restraining factor in jazz are the changes
  8. tuba mirum- the changes
  9. the negro experiences the endless daily humiliation of american life which bequeaths him a futureless future
  10. rex tremendae -futureless future
  11. the negro transforms americas image of him into a transport of joy
  12. recordare-recall the joy
  13. jazz reflects the improvised life thrust upon the negro
  14. onfutatis-repression
  15. through spirituals through the blues then through jazz we made a memory of our past and a promise of all to come
  16. lacrimosa- weeping our lady of sorrow
  17. because jazz is the one element in american life where whites must be humble to the negro
  18. offerturium-hostias-humility
  19. only when whites have paid the price in suffering to be the negroes equal
  20. sanctus- holy holy holy
  21. the jazz body is dead but the spirit of jazz is alive
  22. agnus dei-jazz is dead
  23. lux aeterna-eternal light angel bat dawid -the cry of jazz sun ra
  24. long tone for rayna golding a binti zawadi our future


Requiem for Jazz is a 12-movement suite composed and arranged by Angel Bat Dawid, inspired in part by dialogue from Edward O. Bland’s 1959 film “The Cry of Jazz.”

The original form of the music was premiered at the 2019 edition of the Hyde Park Jazz Festival in Chicago, where Angel conducted a multigenerational fifteen-piece instrumental ensemble (all Black musicians from Chicago’s creative music community) alongside a four- person choir (featuring singers from Black Monument Ensemble), dancers, and visual artists in performance.

Angel mixed and post-produced recordings from the performance – adding interludes, vocals and additional sounds, as well as transcribing a piece from “The Cry of Jazz” film. The final movement of Requiem for Jazz features Marshall Allen and Knoel Scott of the Sun Ra Arkestra. Their contributions were recorded remotely at the historic Arkestral Institute of Sun Ra in Philadelphia in late 2020.

The final Requiem for Jazz work in album form is an immersive 24-track, double LP experience. The physical package is a deluxe, heavyweight gatefold jacket with liner notes by South African writer Nombuso Mathibela, artwork by Damon Locks, and a large fold out poster designed by Jeremiah Chiu, featuring poetry written by Angel Bat Dawid in dedication to all of her collaborators on the project.

More like this