Catalog #TECLP 025
ReleaseW 28 - 2020
FormatVinyl - UK2LP
 € 20,99 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. Entangled Particles Feat. Emika
  2. All Man Got Feat. Trim
  3. Accelerated Culture
  4. Returnity
  5. Making Space
  6. Party Feat. Killa P
  7. Back To Beyond
  8. Change Is A Must Feat. Inezi
  9. Non-Terrestrial Forms
  10. The Last One Feat. Nive Nielsen


Bristol figurehead Rob Ellis AKA Pinch releaseS his first solo album 13 years via his own label, Tectonic !

At points angular and uncompromising with levels in the red, frequencies pushed out and EQ curves stretched into strange new shapes, Pinch mixes both low and hi fi on this boldly distinct sonic statement. It sees him flexing years of production skills – but unconventionally so – knowing well that safe predictability and rounded polish don’t get the most interesting results.  Dark trip hop Bristolia segues into blistering jungle on album opener ‘Entangled Particles’, before planet-hopping onto the spiky insidious grimestep of ‘All Man Got’, featuring the rugged rasp of OG warhorse Trim. 
Beginning a triptych of future techno, ‘Accelerated Culture’ offers the album’s most relatively straightforward moment, albeit one of scorching, anthemic dancefloor heat. Delving deeper into the vortex is the synapse sparking wobbler ‘Returnity’, before ‘Finding Space’ reaches to the cosmos’ far-flung, glowing outlands. Back to an urban reality is ‘Party’, where a subtly menacing sense of dread is ignited by Killa P’s incremental flow, which ramps-up and pairs-back the intensity in unexpected ways. Still moving freely between different realities, ‘Back To Beyond’ is beautiful gloaming ambience, executed with equal fine-tuned grace as the genre’s masters.

Jamaican vocalist Inezi lends sweet tones to the slow burning, roots-meets-modern-bass spiritual ‘Change Is A Must’, and on ‘Non-Terrestrial Forms’ an atmospheric, misty steppers intro segues stealthily into fiercely dystopian, amen-fuelled jungle tekno; marking one of several surprise attacks on the album, where a subtle-slight-of hand shoots the intensity level dynamically up.Closing as it begins, the album is bookended by a piece that recalls the dark, intricate soundscapes of Massive Attack’s ‘Mezzanine’ and Tricky’s ‘Maxinquaye’ – found here in ‘The Last One’s scorched, smoky rocker. 

Vinyl Tracklist:
A1. Entangled Particles Feat. Emika
A2. All Man Got Feat. Trim
A3. Accelerated Culture

B1. Returnity
B2. Making Space
B3. What Am I Waiting For? Feat. Trim **vinyl exclusive bonus track**

C1. Party Feat. Killa P
C2. Back To Beyond

D1. Change Is A Must Feat. Inezi
D2. Non-Terrestrial Forms
D3. The Last One Feat. Nive Nielsen

More like this