ArtistART P
Catalog #TAC 011
ReleaseW 44 - 2022
FormatVinyl - EULP
 € 23,50 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. David
  2. A Place To Fear
  3. Polaroid
  4. No Message
  5. Without Jackets
  6. Sound Of The City
  7. Five Minutes
  8. Beams


Previously unissued music from 1985 by this key figure from the EBM movement- 300 copy press, blue vinyl

"We are proud to present the first ever vinyl release of “No Message” by Art P, a still lesser known and lost masterpiece from the P.A.P. archives. Art P (initially Art Programming) was an electronic music duo consisting of Jens-Markus Wegener and Frank Grotelüschen. On “No Message”, originally released in 1985, we hear the band’s most profound work, a detailed and unique mixture in between of Electro and the synth-laden edge of New Wave.

The two artists from Bremen, the second largest city in Northern Germany after Hamburg, initially met in early 1982 due to a small add in a local newspaper when Grotelüschen was selling his Roland 101 synthesizer. Wegener became the new owner of the machine, the two kept in touch and soon became friends. When Grotelüschen was on holiday for a while he was nice enough to borrow his TR 808 drum machine as well as his Jupiter 4 synth to Wegener. During those six weeks he composed about 6 to 7 tunes that amazed his newly found partner, so that they decided to work together. Art Programming was born and from then on the two electronic music enthusiasts combined forces and released music on various projects. On their first album, the self titled “Art Programming” (1983), they worked with instruments like the Korg Mono/Poly which they mainly used for their bass sounds, a Roland TB-303 as well as a Fricke sequencer. Later, newer synths like the Yamaha DX-9 came into play.

We initially discovered Art P on the tape compilation “berlincassette 2-85” a couple of years ago. Their contribution, the title track from their second and last album “No Message”, blew us right away: punchy drum machines, heavy synths and cool female vocals delivering a serious, yet slightly ironic view on the meaninglessness in pop music having “no message”. A couple of months later, when we finally were lucky to get hold of an original full length tape (which is pretty hard to come by!), we couldn’t ask for more: powerful apocalyptic Synth Wave on “A Place To Fear”, thrilling vocoder Electro Funk on “Polaroid”, uptempo New Wave Synth Pop on “Sounds of the City”, dreamy and melodic Electro on “Without Jackets”, and other well produced tracks. It was an absolute necessity for us to get in touch with Art P and ask for permission to re-release their music on vinyl.

“No Message” was remastered from the absolute best original tape source and sounds incredibly well. The release is limited to 300 copies and will be pressed on blue vinyl. It contains an insert with lyrics and additional art. We think it is save to say, that this should not be missed! "

More like this