TitleINAUDIBLE WORKS 1994-2008
Catalog #EM1211DLP
ReleaseW 06 - 2024
FormatVinyl - JPN2LP
EAN Barcode 4560283215486
 € 39,99 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. godel escher bach in the circle of fifths
  2. cutie bam-boo dance
  3. num
  4. wigwig
  5. indirect
  6. gya-dynamo-generator
  7. any repeated sound becomes music
  8. robotomy mam
  9. grid bug invention
  10. odoremi
  11. 7 up galapagos pop
  12. longing for gamelan
  13. ultimate random walker comeback
  14. children of the distant future
  15. dissipative structure of sound


The 2LP version includes a bonus track, a cover of Happy End's "Kaze wo atsumete". Comes with a 6mm spine gatefold sleeve. Japanese/English liner notes.

What have we here? 16 pieces of hard-to-classify music, created during the period 1994-2008, a cornucopia of playful, intelligent, questing and eminently listenable electronic music from Osaka-born artist Hyu, who released two albums on Nobukazu Takemura’s Childisc label, in 1999 and 2002. Although a member of the turn-of-the-century generation of artists subsumed under the rather vague term “electronica”, his work stands apart in many ways, particularly in his unique exploration of microtonality, his ability to humanize music technology, and his distinctive trait of combining a light touch and sense of fun with conceptual rigor. This collection is an intriguing mix of previously unreleased tracks and re-edited versions of previously released pieces. There is a wide range of music here, many of the pieces truly unique: wiggy and wiggly robo-pop, fractured funk, swinging sample assemblages of subtle sensory overload, dynamo-drones, overtone explorations. All of it distinctive, much of it prescient, all of it rising above the strictures of genre. Hyu’s music is appealing and fun, but driven by a desire to not only create music, but to create ways of creating music. This desire, this quest, is clearly audible in all of these tracks, and in the overall excellence of his music. Available on CD or 2LP with DL. The 2LP features a bonus cover of “Kaze wo atsumete” by Happy End. A notable feature is the entertaining and enlightening notes, written by Hyu himself.

Cover art: Hezu Utsurogi

More like this