ArtistSCAN 7
Catalog #DPTX 021
ReleaseW 34 - 2019
FormatVinyl - EU3LP
 € 29,99 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. Stringin Me Along
  2. no place like home
  3. a wonder of space
  4. its time
  5. cream dreams
  6. im covered
  7. moments like this
  8. as above so below
  9. trackmasta hoop
  10. electronic evidence
  11. smooth scan
  12. deep roots
  13. shadow spirit


With a career spanning over 25 years and close ties to Underground Resistance, Trackmaster Lou Robinson’s Scan 7 collective has always been one of the major forces in Detroit techno. ‘Between Worlds’, their first real album in twenty years (the follow-up to 1999’s ‘Resurfaced’ on Tresor) clearly shows why. It’s the perfect culmination of some of the best music Detroit has to offer: proudly atmospheric techno, deep and sultry dancefloor house and otherworldly electro. 

The triple album opens with the cleverly titled Transmat-inspired ‘Stringin me Along’, immediately followed by one of the many highlights of the album: ‘No Place Like Home’ is an ode to Detroit in the finest UR-tradition that has ‘instant classic’ written all over it. The tempo goes down considerably on the melancholic electro dreamer ‘A Wonder of Space’ and the anthemic ‘It’s Time’ (think Al-Naafiysh 2.0) before going into full house mode with two premium dancefloor destroyers. ‘Moments Like This’ is another highlight on this glorious album, sounding like an ecstatic flashback to the Detroit of the mid-nineties (think Carl Craig, Kenny Larkin and Stacey Pullen), even touching on trance, but without ever sounding cheesy. Scan 7 increases the pressure on ‘Electronic Evidence’ (another firm favorite here) before ending the album on a house note with the swirling ‘Deep Roots’ and the slo mo Theo groove of ‘Shadow Spirit’. ‘Between Worlds’ is both a timeless work of art and an incredible comeback that exceeds all expectations (RO).

More like this