Catalog #STRUT 059LP
ReleaseW 35 - 2001
FormatVinyl - EU2LP
€ 24,99incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. Jingo - Fever
  2. Geraldo Pino And The Heartbeats - Heavy Heavy Heavy
  3. Steele Beauttah - Africa
  4. Mercury Dance Band - Envy No Good
  5. Dackin Dackino - Yuda
  6. K. Frimpong and His Cubano Fiestas - Kyenkyen Bi Adi M Awu
  7. Orchestra Lissanga - Okuzua
  8. Super Mambo 69 - Sweeper Soul
  9. Yahoos - Mabala
  10. Bokoor Band - Onukpa Shawarpo
  11. Nkansah and Yaanom - Pem Dwe
  12. Jingo - Untitled (unreleased bonus track)


'Afro Rock Vol. 1' is one of the most important compilations of heavy original '70s Afro funk and soul to be released in recent years. Originally surfacing on Duncan Brooker's indie Kona label in early 2001.The album single-handedly kick-started the thirst among jazz, funk and soul fans and 'diggers' to rediscover lost music from Africa made during the '60s and '70s from a time when many countries were gaining independence and celebrating a Pan-African identity within their music. The album was one of the first to reach a far different audience to the traditional 'world music' market and spawned many further projects and labels in its wake. A year later, the 'Nigeria 70' compilation surfaced on Strut and labels like Soundway and Analog Africa would continue to unearth amazing lost gems from the Motherland. The album is testament to the determined work of Brooker following several research trips, especially to East Africa - Kenya and Zaire. It brought to light East Africa's finest funk band, Air Fiesta Matata, led by the recently deceased Steele Beautttah, 'The Nigerian James Brown' Geraldo Pino from Port Harcourt in Nigeria, and the storming Afro jam 'Yuda' by Dackin Dackino, a previously unreleased gem from Zaire discovered on a discarded reel. The album has remained influential since its release with tracks appearing on other Afro compilations and on TV and film - Jingo's 'Fever' featured in Kevin McDonald's 2006 hit film, 'Last King Of Scotland'. Out of print since 2002, the album is being reissued on Strut in its original form with an extra bonus track, a dynamite unreleased psychedelic cut by Kenya's Ishmael Jingo. Three further bonus cuts, previously only available on a Japanese version of the compilation, 'Deep Funk Africa', will be available digitally.

More like this