CD Version
Catalog #FARO 239CD
ReleaseW 28 - 2023
FormatCD - UKCD
EAN Barcode5065007965436
Benelux exclusive, Import
 € 14,99 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. arise feat. zara mcfarlane
  2. dance of love peace part 1
  3. life forces
  4. flying circles
  5. freedom progress feat. zara mcfarlane
  6. soul of the people
  7. heritage
  8. into the light of love feat. myles sanko
  9. umoja unity
  10. dance of love peace part 2
  11. arise instrumental
  12. into the light of love instrumental


Renowned Italian spiritual jazz master, DJ, producer, guitarist, and bandleader Nicola Conte proudly presents his new album Umoja via London based label Far Out Recordings.

A joyous exultation across ten tracks, Umoja taps into the abundant well of knowledge Conte has amassed over his career as connoisseuring compiler and archivist of deep jazz, latin, afrofuturist, bossa-nova and soul music from around the world. Expressing unity, oneness and harmony in Swahili, Umoja coalesces universal feelings through the multifaceted global music Conte has spent his life studying and researching.

Having released music with Blue Note, Impulse! and Schema records, Nicola Conte’s relationship with Far Out began over a shared love of hard-edged bossa-nova and swinging samba-jazz. Between 2009-2013 Nicola Conte compiled five volumes of forgotten 60s Brazilian music for his Viagem series. He then released his critically acclaimed Natural album: a collaboration with vocalist Steffania Dippiero, featuring jazz standards alongside covers of lesser known Brazilian gems.

The music of Umoja draws on the deep-dug 70's independent spiritual and free jazz sounds, private-press soul records, and African and Afro Caribbean rhythms in Conte’s collection. But he equally recognises his debt to many of the decade’s more celebrated musical icons, such as North American cosmic jazz masters Lonnie Liston Smith and Gary Bartz, and Afrobeat originators Fela Kuti and Tony Allen. 

Since founding the Bari-based bohemian cultural movement and club night Fez at the dawn of the nineties, Conte has proven to be a pillar of the contemporary, international soul-jazz scene. Composed alongside his long time friend, guitarist Alberto Parmegiani, Conte brings together a dazzling host of guests from around the world, including award winning British vocalist Zara Mcfarlane, acclaimed Finnish saxophonist Timo Lassy, french vibes player Simon Mullier, US vocalist Myles Sanko, rising South African drummer Fernando Damon, former Roy Hargrove bassist Ameen Saleem and Serbian flute sensation Milena Jancuric. 

Zara Mcfarlane - Lead Vocals On Arise/life Forces/freedom & Progress
Bridgette Amofah - Lead Vocals On Dance Of Love & Peace/soul Of The People/flying Circles
Myles Sanko - Lead Vocals On Into The Light Of Love
Timo Lassy - Tenor Saxophone
Teppo Makynen - Drums
Pietro Lussu - Fender Rhodes , Wurlizter, Acoustic Piano
Alberto Parmegiani - Guitar
Abdissa Assefa - Congas & Percussions
Ameen Salim - Fender Bass & Double Bass On Freedom & Progress/Flying Circles/Umoja Unity
Marco Bardoscia - Electric Bass On Dance Of Love & Peace/Arise/Life Forces
Luca Alemanno - Fender Bass & Double Bass On Soul Of The People/Heritage/Into The Light Of Love
Simon Moullier - Vibraphone On Arise/Heritage
Dario Bassolino - Fender Rhodes Piano & Moog On Soul Of The People/Into The Light Of Love
Magnus Lindgren - Flute On Into The Light Of Love
Fernando Damon - Drums On Heritage
Milena Jancuric - Flute On Heritage
Pasquale Calo’ - Tenor Saxophone On Flying Circles
Hermon Mehari - Trumpet On Freedom & Progress
Paola Gladys - Vocals On Flying Circles/Freedom & Progress
Chantal Lewis - Vocals On Into The Light Of Love
Jaelee Small - Vocals On Into The Light Of Love

More like this