On Sale
CD Version
Catalog #KS 022 CD
ReleaseW 11 - 2008
FormatCD - EUCD
 € 4,99  € 15,00 incl. VAT, excl. shipping


  1. River of Life / The Yes Song
  2. Night Of A Thousand Kisses
  3. Big Bad Wolf and Black Widow Spider
  4. Sleepless Nights
  5. Esperar Es Caro
  6. Kokoro
  7. Can I Borrow You
  8. Wolf Reprise
  9. In The End
  10. Old World New World


GEA is already the seventh album by the multitalented Mia Doi Todd. All songs are by Mia herself and are self-produced in collaboration with Build An Ark’s Carlos Nino & Miguel Atwood-Ferguson.Mia Doi Todd was born and raised in Los Angeles, California and was trained as a classical vocalist in her adolescence. In her teenage years Mia began writing songs while a studying at Yale University. Her debut album ‘The Ewe and the Eye’ contained only her voice and acoustic guitar and was recorded in one evening at the “Spaceshed” studio in LA. In 2002 Mia Doi Todd released the album “The Golden State” on the major record label ‘Columbia’ and now in 2008 Mia Doi Todd releases her new album on Kindred Spirits. GEA is Mia Doi Todd Todd’s most intuitive and primal collection of songs yet. Full of incredible passion and sensitivity, these songs reveal the depths of Mia’s emotions, visions and lyrical heart. The album opens with Mia playing guitar and harmonium accompanied by Andres Renteria on hand drums and prolific Chicago-based bassist Joshua Abrams (Sam Prekop, Prefuse 73). Next to this duo are co-producers Carlos Nino & Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, who throughout the album, settle an intense atmosphere with their beautiful woodwind, brass and strings arrangements. Follow Mia as she’ll take you on a journey filled with subtle guitar play while singing, chanting and reflecting the restoring and creative powers of mother-earth despite humankind attempts to sabotage her well-being. A true folk gem..  

More like this