MusicTechno / Electro
Hip Hop
New Jazz / Headz
Funk / Soul
Reggae / Dub
Wave / Pop / Rock
World - Misc
Dj Equipment

o.k. jazz - the loningisa years 1956-1961 - planet ilunga - vinyl

PI 03 - 94528 - eu2lp - €34.50

New Copy

Genre: African

1 Tscha-Tscha-Del Zombo
2 Mousica Tellama
3 Es Mi Cumpleanos
4 Cuidado Cona Mallo
5 Mbongo Na Ngai Judas
6 Maladi Ya Bolingo
7 Cuando Paradi
8 Naci Para Bailar
9 Tika Kobebisa Tango Na Ngai
10 Corre Yo Te Llamo
11 Nesayi Ya Bala Ba OK
12 Yaka Na Koki Te
13 Ndima Ngai
14 Yimbi
15. Olongi Na Yo Mama
16. Caro Simon Mabanzo
17 Na Kobala Mimi
18 Mwana Meno Wele
19 Mobembo Ya Franco Na Wele
20 Christine Yo Nde Boye
21 Bobina Na Esengo
22 Masumbuku
23 Nziele Kuani Kue Mama
24 Sois Sage Amour
25 Ndokoyo
26 Calypso De Nostro Amor
27 Calypso Du Daring
28 La Muyer
29 Escucha Mia Demanda
30 Mina Kio
31 Bana OK Jazz
32 Timing Hole

 Out Of Stock, Remind me
 Add To My Wishlist

Bookmark and Share

After the two earlier releases on Planet Ilunga, focusing on the orchestras African Jazz and Rock-a-Mambo, it makes perfect sense that a third album should explore the treasures of that other major school of popular Congolese music. Check!

With this new compilation Planet Ilunga goes back to the very early days of O.K. Jazz, founded in 1956 in L�opoldville and disbanded in 1993. During the late fifties O.K. Jazz was the home of outstanding musicians such as Franco, Vicky, De La Lune, Edo Nganga, Dessoin, Kouka Celestin, Isaac, Brazzos, Mujos and many others. Together they created an unique and hair-raising take on rumba, cha-cha-cha, calypso, merengue and the band's favourite rhythm: the bolero

From June 1956 to August 1961 the band recorded 320 tracks for the 78 rpm music label Loningisa. Despite earlier efforts from labels such as Crammed Disc, RetroAfric and African (thank you!), there is still a large part of the Loningisa back catalogue that remains hidden from the public. That's why Planet Ilunga associated with Yves Luambo Emongo (son of Franco) and Julien Rocky Longomba (son of Vicky) and compiled 32 O.K. Jazz songs that were recorded between 1956 and 1961.

All songs on this compilation were originally released on 78 rpm records on the Loningisa label and most of the selected tracks were never reproduced after their original release. I tried to construct a tracklist consisting of different composers and different genres to show the diversity of this great band. Planet Ilunga collaborated for this release with a few 78 rpm collectors. I would once again like to thank them for sharing their rare records.

* 2LP vinyl: 32 tracks (total running time: 93:25): tracklist
* Comes with a 40-page booklet (in English) with lyrics in Lingala, lots of pictures and a closer look to this terrific band
* Full artwork gatefold album cover by Miadana Aur�lia
* 180 gram vinyl
* Restored and remastered tracks
* Limited and numbered to 500 copies