• New This Week
  • New Next Week
  • Recent Releases
  • Pre Order
  • New This Week
  • New Next Week
  • Recent Releases
  • Pre Order
  • New This Week
  • New Next Week
  • Recent Releases
  • Pre Order

jody reynolds - devil girls with raven hair (1958-1966) - iron mountain analogue research

IMAR 107LP - uslp

Genre: Soundtracks

1. (The GirlWith The) Raven Hair  
2. Devil Girl  
3. Endless Sleep
4. Fire Of Love
5. Stranger In The Mirror (with Bobbie Gentry)
6. A Tear For Jesse
7. Stone Cold
8. The Storm
9. Requiem For Love (with Bobbie Gentry)
10. Where The Woodbyne Twynes
11. Don't Jump
12. Thunder
13. The Whipping Post
14. Makin' Out
15. Tight Capris
16. Tarantula
17. Raggedy Ann
18. The Big Tragedy

 Pre Order

import title

EAN-13 Barcode: 934334405791

300dpi artwork

Direct from the master tapes for the first time on LP, come the original, earthshaking rockabilly/proto-gothabilly/country-noir-pop 45s of Jody Reynolds. Limited Edition (500) gatefold LP - 250 (randomly inserted) 'Fire Of Love' Red, 250 (randomly inserted) 'Death Disc' black.
A seminal and influential figure, without Jody Reynolds there would be no Cramps, no Gun Club and no Bad Seeds. His first (and massive) 1958 hit 'Endless Sleep' spawned an entire genre/generation of Death Discs or Splatter Platters (Teen Angel, Leader Of The Pack etc. etc.).

Featured here are Reynolds' most notable and sultry sides, pulled from painfully rare 45s like 'Don't Jump' (a teen-suicide/cautionary tale produced by pop-svengali Lee Hazlewood), two rare duets with a pre-'Ode To Billie Joe' Bobbie Gentry and a brilliant and previously unreleased mournful murder-ballad.

Unjustly neglected, Jody Reynolds was a sublime and moody songsmith and performer, crafting etheric ballads ('The Girl With The Raven Hair'), smouldering rockers ('Fire Of Love') and twanging instrumentals ('Thunder') alike.

DJ / Press Quotes

Show reviews (0)